Mayor and Council

Contacts

Municipal Office

395 Mulock Drive P.O. Box 328 Station Main, Newmarket, Ontario
L3Y 4X7
905-895-5193

Email Us

​​​​​​Newmarket Town Council includes the mayor, one regional councillor and seven ward councillors. Town Council is responsible for the governance of the Town of Newmarket, guided by provincial legislation. It establishes policies affecting the Town by resolutions and by-laws. Town staff is responsible for carrying out the direction of Council as a whole.

All Council members are elected for a four-year term. The mayor and regional councillor are elected at large by all voters in the Town and councillors are elected by voters within their specific wards. To find out what ward you live in, see our Ward Boundaries page.

Members of Town council meet at regularly scheduled council and committee meetings throughout the year, as well as at special council meetings as needed.

Newmarket Mayor and Town Council Contact Information


​Tony Van Bynen
Mayor of Newmarket
Tel.: 905-953-5300 ext. 2000
Email: mayor@newmarket.ca 
​John Taylor
Deputy Mayor and Regional Councillor
Tel.: 905-953-5300 ext. 2011
Fax: 905-953-5133
Email: jtaylor@newmarket.ca
​Tom Vegh
Councillor - Ward 1
Home: 905-895-7095
Email: tvegh@newmarket.ca
​Dave Kerwin
Councillor - Ward 2
Home: 905-895-8969
Email: dkerwin@newmarket.ca
​Jane Twinney
Councillor - Ward 3
Cell: 905-806-5258
Email: jtwinney@newmarket.ca
​Tom Hempen
Councillor - Ward 4
Cell: 905-717-9378
Email: thempen@newmarket.ca
​Bob Kwapis
Councillor - Ward 5
Cell: 905-806-0455
Email: bkwapis@newmarket.ca
​Kelly Broome
Councillor - Ward 6
Cell: 905-716-1756
Email: kbroome@newmarket.ca
Christina Bisanz
Councillor - Ward 7
Cell: 905-717-9059
Email: cbisanz@newmarket.ca