Mayor and Council

Contacts

Municipal Office

395 Mulock Drive P.O. Box 328 Station Main, Newmarket, Ontario
L3Y 4X7
905-895-5193

Email Us

​​​​​​Newmarket Town Council includes the Mayor, one Deputy Mayor & Regional Councillor and seven Ward Councillors. Town Council is responsible for the governance of the Town of Newmarket, guided by provincial legislation. It establishes policies affecting the Town by resolutions and by-laws. Town staff is responsible for carrying out the direction of Council as a whole.

All Council members are elected for a four-year term. The mayor and regional councillor are elected at large by all voters in the Town and councillors are elected by voters within their specific wards. To find out what ward you live in, see our Ward Boundaries page.

Members of Town council meet at regularly scheduled council and committee meetings throughout the year, as well as at special council meetings as needed.

Newmarket Mayor and Town Council Contact Information for the 2018 to 2022 term


Mayor John Taylor John Taylor
Mayor of Newmarket
Tel.: 905-953-5300 ext. 2000
Email: jtaylor@newmarket.ca  
Deputy Mayor and Regional Councillor Tom VeghTom Vegh
Deputy Mayor and Regional Councillor
Tel.: 905-895-5193
Fax: 905-953-5133
Email: tvegh@newmarket.ca
Councillor Grace Simon​Grace Simon
Councillor - Ward 1
Mobile: 905-953-6926
Email: gsimon@newmarket.ca 
Councillor Victor Woodhouse​Victor Woodhouse 
Councillor - Ward 2
Mobile: 905-252-7526
Email: vwoodhouse@newmarket.ca
Councillor Jane TwinneyJane Twinney
Councillor - Ward 3
Mobile: 905-392-7727
Email: jtwinney@newmarket.ca
Councillor Trevor MorrisonTrevor Morrison
Councillor - Ward 4
Mobile: 289-221-3477
Email: tmorrison@newmarket.ca
Councillor Bob KwapisBob Kwapis
Councillor - Ward 5
Mobile: 416-799-3942
Email: bkwapis@newmarket.ca
Councillor Broome​Kelly Broome
Councillor - Ward 6
Mobile: 905-716-1756
Email: kbroome@newmarket.ca
Councillor Christina BisanzChristina Bisanz
Councillor - Ward 7
Mobile: 905-717-9059
Email: cbisanz@newmarket.ca